2 volt module needs to read 100.0 with 1.000 volts input

rickety_goodman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:07 pm

2 volt module needs to read 100.0 with 1.000 volts input

Postby rickety_goodman » Sat May 07, 2011 11:55 pm

I have an EPM-8145B2V (2 volt 8145 digital panel meter).

I want it to read 100 (%) when a potentiometer delivers
10 volts to a resistor wired in series with the input.

How do I determine what (input) series resistor will
reduce the 10 volt input to an apparent 1 volt input?
(i.e., what is the input resistance of the module?)

How do I move the decimal point over 2 places to
the right so that 1.000 volts input will show as 100.0?

Thanks

rickety_goodman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:07 pm

Re: 2 volt module needs to read 100.0 with 1.000 volts input

Postby rickety_goodman » Tue May 10, 2011 10:10 am

I found some markings on the PC board saying that the 2volt
module has R2 = 100k and R3 = 11k.
If those are the input scaling resistors, then a 1Meg
resistor in series with the input would cause a 10.00 volt
signal applied to that resistor to display as 1.000 volts.

O.K.

Now, how do I move the decimal point over so that it
reads 100.0?

I see solder jumper pads D1 thru D4 and D1 is jumpered.
If I jumper D3 instead, will the decimal point move?
Also, what are the "F" and "H" jumper pads for?

Thanks

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: 2 volt module needs to read 100.0 with 1.000 volts input

Postby Tech_Marco » Tue May 10, 2011 10:22 am

F = digital filtration (noise reduction). Ideal for used in an application if a lof of static or electro-magnetic field happen to have. Enable it will slow down the display though

H = Hold. I think you can guess what it is.

I'm sorry I don't know about the resistor things as the manufacturer really don't want people to play around with it.


Marco

tonka1020
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:39 am

Re: 2 volt module needs to read 100.0 with 1.000 volts input

Postby tonka1020 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:16 pm

I am also looking for a similar answer, only mine is from 20.00v to 2.000v. If I change D5, it jumps to 200mV max..

thoughts?
T


Return to “Digital/ Analog Meter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest