JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:29 am

Good morning!

I have: JLD404W
Ser No: 120229003026
Inv: 97430B

When I enter Setup PW 0001 The menu does not show setting J1 or J2. I only have AH1, AL1, AH2 and AL2. Since you can not set J2 to Volts, you can not perform the example in the manual. Is there another password to set J2 and J2? Password 0002 shows a menu of J1 and J2, but when you press Set you get two digits. It is not mentioned in the manual. What is it for?

Also, when I press ">" to cycle the display I never see Time or KW and the KW led never lights up.

Thanks

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby Tech_Marco » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:15 am

Hello:
The J2 is controlled by AH2 and AL2. Please see manual for the use of J1 and J2. The meter doesn't support Time.

There is no "0002" but "0042" and it's for 20mA data output (optional only). What you need is "0042" and "0001". Again, please refer all info on the manual.


Marco

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:48 am

Thanks for your quick response Marco!

Perhaps I did not explain myself correctly. Page 3 of the manual shows the following:

2) Enter password: 0001, set alarm
Set J1 type for A;
Set current upper limit J1 latched value(AH1)= 1.200A;
Set current lower limit J1 unlatched value(AL1) = 1.196A;
Set J2 type for V;
Set voltage upper limit J2 (AH2) = 2.8V;
Set voltage lower limit J2 (AL2) = 2.84V;

The problem is that after entering Password 0001 and pressing Set there are no menu choices for the variables J1 or J2. AH1, AL1, AH2 and AL2 are there, but again, there is no J1 or J2. Thus it is impossible to set J2 to "V" as described in the manual.

Please look into it.

Thanks,

John

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby Tech_Marco » Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:29 pm

Hello John:

J1 =relay 1 and controlled by AH1 and AL1
J2 = relay 2 and controlled by AH2 and AL2

It seems that you may be confused by the terms it use. In the controller, you won't see "J1" or "J2" alone as it must be controlled by High and Low of each relay of "J". I did mention "upper limit" and "lower limit" on the manual where "upper" = AH and "lower" = AL respectively

Hope this may clear out the issue


Marco

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:39 pm

Marco,
Did you not read your own manual? All three pages of it?

See from bottom of page 1:

(B) Power Alarm Parameters( Press , enter password “0001”)
Symbol Name Description Range/Default Default
J1 J1 Relay J1 A/V/AH A <--- Your manual says variable J1 has three values, A/V/ AH A
AH1 AH1 Relay J1 engaged -19999~9999 10
AL1 AL1 Relay J1 disengaged -19999~9999 20
J2 J2 Relay J2 A/V/AH A <--- Your manual says variable J2 has three values, A/V/ AH A
AH2 AH2 Relay J2 engaged -19999~9999 30
AL2 AL2 Relay J2 disengaged -19999~9999 40
END End End


Here's page 3, the programming example again:

2) Enter password: 0001, set alarm
Set J1 type for A; <<<--- Your manual says "Set J1 type for A"
Set current upper limit J1 latched value(AH1)= 1.200A;
Set current lower limit J1 unlatched value(AL1) = 1.196A;
Set J2 type for V; <<<--- Your manual says "Set J2 type for V"
Set voltage upper limit J2 (AH2) = 2.8V;
Set voltage lower limit J2 (AL2) = 2.84V;

I read quite well and am not confused at all.

The problem is that your manual does not match the firmware in the JLD404!

There is no J1 or J2 variable to set!

Thus you can not tell J1 and J2 to measure Voltage or AH A

There are significant differences between the manual and the firmware supplied in the JLD404.

So... can you set J1 and J2 to A/V/ AH A? Or has this feature been eliminated?

John

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby Tech_Marco » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:02 pm

John:

I haven't tested the meter as I can't do it for now. I'm having a trip in China. The manual was what I worked out back to 2 years ago. I don't know if the supplier change firmware or not. I'll get a sample from them see if any change has happened.

Sorry for the inconvenience

Marco

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby Tech_Marco » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:05 pm

Wait.... there is no AH!
Were you download the wrong manual or not?
I think you have download the AH meter, not the JLD404 DC power meter.

Marco :shock:

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:55 pm

Marco,

My invoice reads:

ETC-JDL404PWD-1B Programmable Digital DC Power Watt Meter

The file name of the manual I downloaded is:

JLD404AH-ENG.pdf

John

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:02 pm

It looks like I ordered the wrong JDL404!

I want the JDL404AH but ordered the JDL404PWD-1B

Can I exchange them?

John

Tech_Marco
Posts: 4311
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:00 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby Tech_Marco » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:13 am

You need to request a rma# by email to contactus@Lightobject.com
Also, you need to purchase the AH meter by new order. Can't do direct exchange

Marco

hawkeye51
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:17 pm

Re: JLD404W Can not set J1 and J2 measurement types

Postby hawkeye51 » Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:04 am

Thanks Marco,

Thanks for your help. I'm sorry for the mis-understanding.

John


Return to “Digital/ Analog Meter”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest