Confirmation on which upgrade kit I'd need for K40 upgrade

pwoyorkie

Confirmation on which upgrade kit I'd need for K40 upgrade

Post by pwoyorkie »

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and somewhat new to laser engraving/cutting. I ordered a chinese 40w laser which arrived on Monday and took a few days to set up, allign and slightly mod the machine. The machine works great, however, the software (Moshidraw) is probably one of the worst pieces of software I've ever used. After a few days tinkering I've managed to figure it out however it has a knack of pausing, crashing and deciding to cut through the middle of engravings.

I've decided that its just not a viable way for me to do what I need the machine to do. Rather than cut my loses I think I'll upgrade to the DSP kit. I'm by no means an electronics expert but I think I can just about fumble through the upgrade with help from Marcos tutorial....which is where I'm now stuck.

My machine doesnt look like the one in the PDF. Now I'm unsure which kit (or components) I would need to purchase.

Would any one be so kind as to peruse the uploaded photos and confirm what I would need?

Many thanks,

Yorkie

NickWL

Re: Confirmation on which upgrade kit I'd need for K40 upgra

Post by NickWL »

I recognise this one all too well! It's what I started with.
Basically, all the electronics have to come out and the optical endstops (two of) need to be replaced with microswitches.
The 'floor' is held up on four posts, that has to go.
The control panel goes too.
Then ask Marco (or study the LO shop) for a full DSP upgrade kit including PSU, air-assist and ideally a z-table and honeycomb.
You could keep the 12v PSU but I changed that to the LO one as well since the supplied one was a bit feeble.
Then add in (non-LO) some lights, a couple of interconnect switches (lid and maybe water flow), a cooling system (LO's should be favourite) and a decent fume extraction system.