Print driver question

Tech_Marco

Print driver question

Post by Tech_Marco »

Hi folks:

I discussed with the programmer 'Li' about the print driver. I think he may hit the curve by finding driver sources and he was wondering if he could pay for some sources code for the driver? I'm not a programmer so I know nothing about it. Anyone with programming background want to feed some output here?

If he doesn't do the Print driver, then he need to create 'add-on' VB module for CorelDraw, Illustrator, AutoCAD,... InkEscape. But, the problem is that application developer from Illustrator or AutoCAD ares keep changing and the source is not opened, he has hard time to catch up. That's why LaserCad sometimes can't import DXF files or AI files properly. We got to make sure that the LaserCad can handle some version if not all version. Your input is greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Marco
als

Re: Print driver question

Post by als »

Marco,

Have Li search for "XPSDrvSmpl". There is a sample driver that Microsoft provides on GitHub (http://github.com/Microsoft/Windows-dri ... PSDrvSmpl/). Be warned however that it is not a "simple example" with clear explanations. I don't think that there is such a thing as a simple Windows Printer Driver. And frankly it is probably a project too big for a single developer with other responsibilities.

I've written other types of device drivers, but not a print driver (which is no longer a traditional kernel-mode driver), so take that advice for what it is worth. If I could find a clear guide on writing such drivers, I would volunteer to produce one that drives something simple like an Arduino controlled LCD, just to give Li an example (and to learn).

You might consider contracting with Qualsoft or Radix, or another consultant that has experience with Windows Print Drivers. Focus on an XPS or Open XPS driver as the old GDI and Unidrv models probably will not be supported on Windows 8, 10, and above.